I was given the unique opportunity of ministering in Eleuthera, Bahamas. Not only was I able to share God’s word with the children of Eleuthera, but I was able to witness the beauty of God’s creation every day. Every morning I could wake up, walk out to the porch, and have the most incredible view of the ocean He created. It was truly amazing.

Our mission team also got to visit all kinds of beautiful places on the island. One of my favorite spots we visited was a bridge called Glass Window Bridge. There is nothing special about the bridge itself, but it is what’s on either side of the bridge that is so incredible. Glass Window Bridge happens to be over the thinnest part of the island. So the two oceans surrounding the island (Atlantic and Caribbean) come within thirty yards of one another. When you look to the right of the bridge you see deep blue Atlantic water and when you look to the left you see the beautiful turquoise colored water of the Caribbean.  It was so mind blowing to see two totally different bodies of water so close together. The Atlantic side of the bridge was so powerful looking, with the white foam surging up as the waves crashed against the rocks and the wind blowing and whipping at my face. But the Caribbean side was completely different. The clear water remained calm and placid. It made me want to grab my snorkel gear and dive in and explore the world underneath the surface.

So as I stood there marveling at what I thought should be the eighth wonder of the world, I couldn’t help but be reminded of God’s character. A lot of times it is easier for me to only worship the Caribbean side of God, the side that shows mercy and bestows grace. But God also has an Atlantic side, the side that has wrath and exercises judgment. What God revealed to me that day was how beautiful and complex He can be. He has many “sides” or characteristics that define Him. He is mighty, compassionate, just, and extraordinary. He is marvelous and I should be in constant awe of Him. I need to hold a reverent fear for His Atlantic side, because He is powerful and almighty. And I need to be grateful for His Caribbean side because He blesses me with undeserved forgiveness.

I was also reminded of the many sides of God’s character as we studied the book of Jonah. When Jonah decided to run from God rather than immediately obey Him, God dealt with Jonah justly and punished him by sending a great storm upon the sea. But when Jonah was cast into the sea, God provided a great fish to swallow Jonah and save him from drowning. So God revealed Himself to be fair and just, but He also demonstrated His kindness and mercy.

Our God has so many attributes that make Him…God. He is powerful yet gentle. He is full of grace but He also makes judgments. He is our comforter and yet He is our rod and staff. There is not one word that can define Him. He is too big and too great to be truly defined by words we use to describe Him. He is our God, and He is indescribable.

~ Kelsey Whitson, Powdersville Dioko Student